Breakthrough Prize and European Federation of Academies of Sciences and Humanities (ALLEA) announce partnership

The Breakthrough Prize and ALLEA, the European Federation of Academies of Sciences and Humanities, today announced a partnership to further the shared goal of promoting a culture where science and scholarship can thrive.

ALLEA and Breakthrough Prize share the common goal of promoting a culture where science and scholarship can thrive. With this partnership they seek to encourage everyone in the scientific realm to consider nominating colleagues for the Breakthrough Prize. It is known that European science is excellent in most fields and European scientists and their work would benefit tremendously from the exposure and the remuneration they would receive by winning the prize.

ALLEA brings together 59 academies in more than 40 countries, with members leading scholarly enquiry across all fields of the natural sciences, social sciences and humanities.
For the sixth year, the Breakthrough Prize, recognized as the world’s largest science prize, will honor top scientists, handing out up to five prizes in Life Sciences, one in Fundamental Physics and one in Mathematics. Each prize comes with a $3 million award.
As an international award, the Breakthrough Prize welcomes nominations on behalf of outstanding researchers throughout the world. Starting this year, ALLEA’s website and communication channels are raising awareness of the opportunity to nominate great scientists and mathematicians, and directing nominators to the Breakthrough Prize nomination form. All researchers in Europe are encouraged to visit the site and make a nomination on behalf of outstanding scientists and colleagues.
The Breakthrough Prize was founded by Sergey Brin and Anne Wojcicki, Mark Zuckerberg and Priscilla Chan, and Yuri and Julia Milner to celebrate achievements in Fundamental Physics, Life Sciences and Mathematics. The awards are presented at an annual globally televised ceremony, followed by a day of lectures and discussions co-sponsored by Stanford University, University of California, Berkeley and University of California, San Francisco. In addition to the Breakthrough Prize, awards for junior researchers in mathematics and physics are also handed out yearly.
To learn more visit,


Announcing Institution